AUTHOR Q&A – INES BAUTISTA-YAO

First ever FILIpino author that i interviewed.

5359512 Only A Kiss CoverSynopsis of her book from Goodreads:

(Source: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23705867-only-a-kiss?from_search=true )

When she was nine-years-old, Katie knew she wanted Chris to give her her first kiss. It wasn’t because she was in love with him (no way, he was her best friend! Besides, she was in love with his fourteen-year-old big brother), it was because she could make him do anything she wanted.
Besides, it didn’t really mean anything. It was only a kiss after all.
But then things started to change. They grew up. They parted ways and went to different high schools. And other girls and boys—well, just one particular boy—came into the picture, throwing their lives upside down.
Told from the alternating points of view of Katie and Chris, this love story between two best friends will tug at your heartstrings and leave you thinking how the simplest things can mean so much.url

authorqanda


  • Where did you get the idea of your books? Did it come from your experiences, observations, unexpressed feelings? or what?
Hi, Jasmine! Thank you for interviewing me! My ideas come from what I notice and see around me, whatever enters my head when I’m driving or in the shower, what I think of when I’m listening to a song or seeing a group of people that catch my eye, ideas that spring to mind as I’m talking to my best friends and family—basically anything that comes into contact with me. I don’t base my stories on my life because that would boring. I write so that I can make up fun, interesting, and what I perceive to be really cool stuff. Maybe I’ll use something I experienced but I will exaggerate it or blow it up a little bit just so I can take it from ordinary to fascinating.  
  • What’s your motto in life?
I believe that you can do anything you set your heart on and the first step is to believe in yourself.
  • How would you define the words “true friendship”?
True friendship happens when two people care about each other more than they do about themselves. They look out for each other, worry about each other, and have each other’s best interests at heart. True friendship is when you love each other and love spending time together, having fun and also being there during the difficult times. It stands the test of time and the test of other people who make life more interesting, so to speak.
  • How would you describe your book to new fans?
If you’re looking for a sweet, romantic story about best friends who have grown up together, this is the book for you! Haha! Sounds like an ad. But really, Only A Kiss is a love story about Katie and Chris, two childhood best friends. It is told from both their points of view and shows how they grow in life and in love. And it’s got loads of feels and kilig!
  • Are you working on another project?
Yes! Several haha! I think I may be in over my head.
  • If yes, give me one word that best describes it.
Ambitious.

You can find her via:

goodreads twitter

Leave a Reply

