Author Q&A – Kimberly Karalius

Kim Karalius (c) Phillippe DiederichLove Fortunes and Other DisastersSYNOPSIS OF HER BOOK FROM GOODREADS:

(SOURCE: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22718710-love-fortunes-and-other-disasters )

Love is real in the town of Grimbaud, and Fallon Dupree has dreamed of attending high school there for years. After all, generations of Duprees have successfully followed the (100% accurate!) love fortunes from Zita’s famous Love Charms Shop to happily marry their high school sweethearts. It’s a tradition. So she is both stunned and devastated when her fortune states that she will NEVER find love.
Fortunately, Fallon isn’t the only student with a terrible love fortune, and a rebellion is brewing. Fallon is determined to take control of her own fate—even if it means working with a notorious heartbreaker like Sebastian.
Will Fallon and Sebastian be able to overthrow Zita’s tyranny and fall in love?

url


authorqanda


  • ASIDE FROM WRITING, WHAT KEEPS YOU BUSY?
I love reading, of course, and also watching television when I get the change. I’m terrible at keeping up with series, but I’m obsessed with Gotham currently. Going to Disney World is another hobby of mine. I try to go at least twice a month. Unless the parks are over capacity, it’s a relaxing experience for me – getting to stroll around, go on some rides, eat delicious food, and gather new story ideas from the people I meet and see. It’s wonderful. 
  •  WHAT’S YOUR FAVORITE YA NOVEL?
That’s such a hard question! I’m going to go with ECHO by Francesca Lia Block. It was the first Block book I ever read; I remember picking it off the shelf  in the library, enchanted by the mysterious girl on the cover with her fluttering, cinnamon hair and glittery eye. The novel itself is jammed with magical realism – even though I didn’t know what magical realism was at the time, I knew I wanted to write stories like that. Stories with bits and pieces of magic slipped in, seamless and breathtaking. 
  •  WHAT INSPIRED YOU TO WRITE LOVE FORTUNES AND OTHER DISASTERS?
A few silly conversations I had with my fellow English majors in college. Girls severely outnumbered guys on campus, so finding a date was a challenge. We used to joke that we’d become glamourous spinsters after graduation, with mansions, butlers, and rooms full of cats (or dogs, for me. I’m not a cat person). I always wanted to turn that idea into a novel, but since I wanted to write YA, it was a little more difficult – and fun. After all, the town of Grimbaud and Zita’s love fortunes came soon after! 
  • IT HAS A CATCHY TITLE. HOW DID YOU COME UP WITH IT?
Well, the original title was “We Could Fall in Love.” But Swoon Reads felt that a more specific, story-revealing title would be better. I went back and forth with the sales and editorial team for almost week before we found the perfect title! 
  •  DESCRIBE YOUR BOOK TO NEW FANS.
LOVE FORTUNES AND OTHER DISASTERS is about a girl who is determined to fight her fate and make her own romantic future. When Fallon Dupree attends school in the town of Grimbaud her freshman year, she expects to recieve a great love fortune from Zita’s charm shop. But when her love fortune says that she will never fall in love, Fallon fights back by joining a rebellion of unlucky-in-love teens. She’ll have to work together with notorious heartbreaker, Sebastian, if she has any hope of succeeding. 
 
  •  ARE YOU WORKING ON ANOTHER PROJECT?
Yes, actually! My next book with Swoon Reads is the sequel to LOVE FORTUNES. I’m getting ready for my first round of revisions. 
 
  •  IF YES, HOW WOULD YOU DESCRIBE IT?
I can’t talk about it yet, except to say that it will have a new main character – one you’re already familiar with from the first book. 
 
  •  ARE YOU PLANNING TO GO HERE IN THE PHILIPPINES?
Not any time soon, as far as I know. I’d love to go! I’ll just have to wait and see what the future holds! 

You can find her via:

goodreads twitter

Leave a Reply

