BOOK REVIEW – TAKING AIM: POWER AND PAIN, TEENS AND GUNS

TakingAimBOOK: TAKING AIM: POWER AND PAIN, TEENS AND GUNS

EDITED BY: MICHAEL CART

FORMAT / PUBLISHER: ARC / HARPER TEEN


Synopsis1

Powerful, riveting, and real. Sixteen celebrated authors bring us raw, insightful stories that explore guns and teens in a fiction collection that is thought provoking and emotionally gripping. For fans of Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock and Give a Boy a Gun, and with an array of YA talent like the late great Walter Dean Myers, the poetic Joyce Carol Oates, the prophetic Elizabeth Wein, and the gritty Chris Crutcher, these are evocative voices that each has a different perspective to give. Capturing the hurt and the healing, victims and perpetrators, these stories get to the heart of the matter.

From a boy whose low self-esteem is impacted when a gun comes into his possession to a student recalling a senseless tragedy that befell a favorite teacher, from a realistic look at hunting to a provocative look at a family that defies stereotypes, each emotional story stirs the debate to new levels. The juxtaposition of guns and their consequences offers moving tales, each a reminder of how crucial the question of guns in our society is, and the impact they have on all of us.

Other acclaimed contributors are Marc Aronson, Edward Averett, Francesca Lia Block, Alex Flinn, Gregory Galloway, Jenny Hubbard, Peter Johnson, Ron Koertge, Chris Lynch, Eric Shanower, Will Weaver, and Tim Wynne-Jones.


book review

*i would like to thank harper collins international for sending me an arc of this book. this doesn’t affect nor influence my review.*

anigif_enhanced-buzz-1984-1379606581-16{SHORT DESCRIPTION FOR TAKING AIM}

Taking Aim is not the typical book I’m always holding. Aside from the words written on the book, there are also illustrations THAT briefly explained some things ABOUT GUNS. This book stated the word “gun” a couple of times (or most probably every time). It discussed how guns were being used by different people with different perceptions in life. In this story, guns were used for hunting, zombie apocalypse and sometimes ridiculously just for fun etc..
This book may be an eye-opener to everyone who thinks that life is not worth it. That life is just a waste.
On the other hand, let me just tell you why I rated it 3 stars. The storytelling was quite bland. I don’t say that everything was not interesting but I was having a hard time understanding the characters. I didn’t like the development of the characters. Almost everyone started and ended up being immature. And that’s not a plus point for me. I just don’t find it very appealing. i find it appalling. NOT IMPRESSIVE. NOT AT ALL. 😦
Another thing is that some stories were not consistent throughout the end. *sighs* #idontwanttosayanythingelse
Overall, if you love guns and would love to read about teenagers’ experience with guns, then I’ll definitely recommend this to you but if not, it’s still up to you if you would read it.
There’s this story which is on point. I’m not gonna tell you the title of that story. See for yourself.

3url

YOU CAN ALSO FIND ME ON TWITTER, INSTAGRAM AND GOODREADS. 🙂

signature

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW – TAKING AIM: POWER AND PAIN, TEENS AND GUNS

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s