LET’S TALK ABOUT ARCS!

ARCs

A lot of you have been asking me questions regarding ARCs and I finally outlined some things and tips for you.

First of all, ARC stands for Advance Reader’s Copy. ARCs are being distributed by publishers to create hype and buzz for their upcoming books. Let me just tell you something, it’s not the publisher’s obligation and responsibility to distribute ARCs to everyone. If you’re blogging because you only want to get ARCs or something like that, you’re doing it the wrong way. Trust me, you’re driving yourself to become an ARC hoarder and that’s very wrong. Okay? Okay. Also, I want to emphasize that ARCs don’t and will not describe your blogging position in the book community.

“How to get ARCs? Where do I send my request? Where can I get ARCs? Will publishers visit my blog?”

These were just some of the most common questions I’m getting from my social media accounts and I think I’m finally ready to answer them.

{ Everything you’re about to read are based on my experiences and are all my opinions. }

I’ve read some articles saying that your blog must have at least 500 followers or you’re blogging for at least six months or longer. I would agree with this, but this doesn’t mean that if you’re blogging for less than six months, you can’t request for an ARC. Some publishers visit blogs and if they’ve seen that your blog has a potential, they would agree to send you an ARC.

Whenever you’re going to send an email to a publisher, please make sure that your email is written in a formal or professional way. Start your request by introducing yourself, the place you’re living in (especially for international bloggers!), your preferred genre, and your blog (of course!). Give them the monthly stats of your blog (you can also send them a screenshot of your monthly views), the number of followers of your blog, the total number of views of your blog, and you can also send them a sample post (like a book review or something). Also, don’t forget to include your other social media accounts where you can promote their books.

Next, request the book/s you want to read and review. Include the book title and the author’s name. You can request more than one book, but don’t request everything. P.S. DON’T EVER REQUEST FOR BOOKS THAT YOU WON’T READ AND REVIEW. ARCs are not free. Publishers are paying for them, too.

Don’t forget to send them your shipping information, too. Send them your full name, mailing address, and your contact number. It would be easier for them to send you a copy if you’ve already sent them your information.

In my case, I’m requesting ARCs 2-4 months before the release of the actual book. Why? I want to be ready with my book review before the release of the book. Please keep in mind that ARCs are different from the actual book. There will still be revisions and editing needed before the release of the book.

And now….. let me share the email addresses of these publishers! Some of these email addresses are specifically for YA and children’s books. (International bloggers, please ask the publishers if they’re sending ARCs internationally.)

  • HARPER TEEN: harperteen@harpercollins.com
  • HARPER COLLINS INTL: harpercollinsintl@harpercollins.com
  • SOURCEBOOKS FIRE: teenfire@sourcebooks.com
  • MACMILLAN: childrens.publicity@macmillanusa.com
  • SIMON AND SCHUSTER: ChildrensPublicity@simonandschuster.com
  • SCHOLASTIC: TradePublicity@scholastic.com
  • DISNEY PUBLISHING WORLDWIDE: DPW.Publicity@disney.com
  • HMH KIDS: childrens.publicity@hmhco.com | international@hmhco.com
  • HACHETTE: publicity@lbyr.com
  • PENGUIN: Please fill out the Blogger Request Form then proceed to the Galley Request Form.
  • EDELWEISS & NETGALLEY

Please take note that it may take some time before the publishers reply to your email. They’re receiving tons of requests everyday. Also, sending an email doesn’t assure that you’ll be having a copy in your mail.

These are the following scenarios that may (or may not) happen when you finally sent them an email.

  • You’ll receive a reply saying that they’ve granted your request and they’ll send you a copy.
  • You’ll receive a reply saying that they’ve declined your request.
  • You’ll not receive a reply, but you’re going to receive a copy.
  • You’ll not receive a reply and you’re not going to receive a copy.

I hope this post helps you and your blog. If you still have some questions, please leave a comment down below. Also, if I made some mistakes (especially with the email addresses), please let me know.

SIGN

6 thoughts on “LET’S TALK ABOUT ARCS!

  1. This is a lovely post for some new bloggers looking to connect with publishers about books and ARCS! While I myself do not particularly crave for ARCs, I do like receiving them, but I try not to hoarde or request too much at once!
    Great post Jasmine!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

