BOOK REVIEW: A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES BY SARAH J. MAAS

A Court of Thorns and Roses


27871283 BOOK: A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES

AUTHOR: SARAH J. MAAS

FORMAT / PUBLISHER: PAPERBACK / BLOOMSBURY

 

synopsisn

Feyre’s survival rests upon her ability to hunt and kill – the forest where she lives is a cold, bleak place in the long winter months. So when she spots a deer in the forest being pursued by a wolf, she cannot resist fighting it for the flesh. But to do so, she must kill the predator and killing something so precious comes at a price …

Dragged to a magical kingdom for the murder of a faerie, Feyre discovers that her captor, his face obscured by a jewelled mask, is hiding far more than his piercing green eyes would suggest. Feyre’s presence at the court is closely guarded, and as she begins to learn why, her feelings for him turn from hostility to passion and the faerie lands become an even more dangerous place. Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose him forever..


bookreviewn

This was my first book by Sarah J. Maas and I’m glad to say that I LOVED ACOTAR. Like HELL YEAH! I think you guys know that I’m switching genres and not sticking with just YA contemporary. AND OH MY GOD, fantasy is by far my most favorite genre this year. Fantasy with a slight touch of romance. *grins*

I will not go into much detail about the characters because I don’t want to spoil anyone who hasn’t read it yet. I want them to feel the MOMENT of PERFECTION (well, almost for me).

Let’s face it, if you’ve read ACOTAR, of course you know Tamlin. TAMLIN. Another check on my bucket list: “FIND YOUR BOOK BOYFRIEND OF THE MONTH.” Well, he’s mine for now. I don’t know if he’ll be my book boyfriend of the month. Maybe “… of the year?” DUHHhH. If you haven’t read ACOTAR yet, you should probably read it now because *squeals* HELLO… you’re missing a lot. I’m not going to give any clues about him, too. Feyre is one of my most favorite characters of all time. She’s the bad-ass type of character, but she slayed it.

I’m glad I trusted my instincts about ACOTAR and it’s also a retelling (right?). The story was beautifully and carefully written by the Queen. The choice of words were just on point. Each chapter will leave you hanging like “Jasmine, nope, you can’t eat yet. NO. NO. Just read.” YES. I ate my lunch a little bit late because of this book. I was continuously reading this book (like I don’t have any school stuff to do) and was enjoying every single page. So, why did I just give it 4 stars instead of 5? My 4-star rating means “almost perfection”. I am SO looking forward to reading the sequel and who knows? I might give it a 5.

Also, I would like to thank all the people who told (and forced) me to read ACOTAR. You know who you are. Sarah J. Maas, you’re such a talented + a gorgeous author. HANDS DOWN TO YOU!


4STurl

TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | BLOGLOVIN’ | GOODREADS

New Signature

15 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES BY SARAH J. MAAS

  1. Yes!!! And in May ACOMAF is released!! You’re lucky you found this now, I read it the day it came out (so long ago x____x). Have you read the Throne of Glass series? PREPARE FOR YOUR SOUL TO BE RIPPED APART AND MENDED AND EVERYTHING IN BETWEEN. Ps. if you haven’t I HIGHLY (HIGHLY!!) recommend reading The Assassin’s Blade FIRST, and then TOG

    Liked by 1 person

  2. i just finished reading this book! i gave it a 4.5 out of 5 stars, so i totally agree with you when you say it was ‘almost perfection.’ so excited for the next book!

    loved your review :))

    Like

  3. I’m so glad you liked ACOTAR, Jasmine! I actually didn’t know if you will like it at first, because it actually took me quite a few pages to get me hooked. But, wait, why am I not seeing Rhysand nor Lucien in this review? SUCH STEAMY MEN :3 Lol hahaha! But, anyway, great review! Can’t wait to fangirl with you, Jasmine! ♥

    Like

  4. OMG IM SO HAPPY THAT YOU LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!! And it’s your first Sarah J Maas book?? You need to go binge the Throne of Glass books now!
    But seriously Tamlin will be like in your top 5 boyfriends of the year!! He’s amazing!! I’m so excited about the sequel 🙂

    Like

  5. Love this review! I haven’t read this yet either (or anything else by Sarah J Maas) so I know I’m in for a treat when I do. I can’t wait to read your review for the sequel!

    Like

  6. So glad you enjoyed this so much! I completely agree with everything you’ve said – the romance was absolutely wonderful and I loved how Maas handled the retelling. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Like

  7. (hello from the twitter chat yesterday!) i looooved acotar! it was definitely one of my favorite books and i can’t wait for acomaf!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

