PH Blog Tour: Unscripted Joss Byrd by Lygia Day Peñaflor

BLOG TOUR - UNSCRIPTED JOSS BYRD

unscriptedjossbyrd BOOK: Unscripted Joss Byrd

AUTHOR: Lygia Day Peñaflor

FORMAT / PUBLISHER: ARC / Roaring Brook Press


synopsisnn

Hollywood critics agree. Joss Byrd is “fiercely emotional,” a young actress with “complete conviction,” and a “powerhouse.”

Joss Byrd is America’s most celebrated young actress, but on the set of her latest project, a gritty indie film called The Locals, Joss’s life is far from glamorous. While struggling with her mother’s expectations, a crush on her movie brother, and a secret that could end her career, Joss must pull off a performance worthy of a star. When her renowned, charismatic director demands more than she is ready to deliver, Joss must go off-script to stay true to herself.


bookreviewnn

jasmine sign

Rating: 4.5 stars

*I would like to thank Lygia Day Peñaflor for sending me an ARC  of this book.

This doesn’t affect nor influence my review.*

Here’s a backstory for you…

Last year, while I was scrolling my twitter timeline, I ended up following Lygia (@lygiaday). First impression? I was quite sure that she’s a Filipina or at least Asian. Also, her surname is the same with my closest friend’s surname. Coincidence? I bet not. I also knew that her book would come out this August because I did some stalking. There’s this program for bloggers where we should write a letter for one author and guess who I’ve written to? Yup, I wrote her a letter. To my surprise, she told me that THAT letter was her first fan mail or something. On the 22nd of November 2015, she sent me an email. That was one of the most unforgettable emails that I’ve received in my entire life. And it all came down to this PH blog tour. Lygia, you don’t know how much this tour helped me. Thank you for being so wonderful. I can’t wait for Joss to be officially out in the wild!

Here’s a recap before I proceed with my review. These awesome bloggers were also on board for the PH tour. Again, thank you with all my heart! You guys are the best.

“This book was amazingly crafted and written. Each chapter left me in awe. The realistic element of this book was on point. Thumbs and toes up for Lygia!”

Joss Byrd is a very rare name. I’ve never heard something like this before until now. The thing I really liked about this book was its realistic plot. It doesn’t mean that if you’re a celebrity, your life is perfect. The conflict between Joss and her mother made me love this book. Weird? NOPE. Also, the way Joss handled the situation was a plus point for me. Just remember, if there are some people who will let you down at the peak of your success, there are still those who will support you to grow further.

I cannot think of the right words to fully describe this one. It was indeed a roller coaster of feelings. I was in awe, in shock, everything…. Lygia needs to write more books because she is really talented. I’m so happy for you, Lygia! Thanks for bringing Joss here in the PH.

Bookworms, this book comes out on the 23rd of August and you need to pre-order it ASAP.

url

TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | BLOGLOVIN’ | GOODREADS
One thought on “PH Blog Tour: Unscripted Joss Byrd by Lygia Day Peñaflor

Leave a Reply

