Event Recap: #JenniferNiveninPH (05/29/16)

#JenniferNiveninPH

OH. MY. GOSH. I’m still freaking out. I still haven’t moved on from yesterday’s book signing event. By the way, this was the first book signing that I’ve attended so far this year and I’m looking forward to attend more. Speaking of Jennifer Niven, she was the kind of person whom you’ll love from the start till the end of the session. You will not get tired of staring at her face, listening to her voice, and hugging her till you can. Yesterday’s event was a total success and I would like to thank National Book Store for bringing her here in the PH.

I was cherishing every moment that I forgot to film the whole Q&A session, but I was able to jot down some notes. Here’s an outline of her answers.

If there will be a sequel….

Violet will wander around New York. She’ll travel around the world after she graduates and would probably write a book about Finch. I feel like I’m Violet because I once had my own Finch.

If she was given the chance to change the ending of the book…

I thought of changing the ending to make it a happier one, but it was a personal story.

If there was anything that the characters could have done to change their fate…

There’s a lot that could’ve been done.

What can her readers expect from her new book?

Holding Up the Universe is a little bit happier. 10 box of tissues for All The Bright Places then 5 for Holding Up The Universe. It was hard to make that separation because I’m into Finch and Violet.

What does Jennifer do on her writing break?

I write a lot.  But of course, it was important to have balance to have time for myself. I want to play with my friends, family, and I love to dance. I take dance classes near home.

How was the writing process for Holding Up the Universe different from the writing process for All the Bright Places?

It was challenging because I’m into Finch and Violet. I made myself a playlist for Jack and Libby. Listen to Jack’s playlist so I can write something about him, then switch to Libby’s playlist then write something about her.

If you want to read the detailed Q&A session, please read Ate Kai’s post about it. 🙂


And now, what happened before, during, and after the book signing event?

I’m 2 hours away from Manila (I’m living somewhere in South Luzon) so I woke up at around 4:45am. My eyes were still telling me to sleep, but my brain was keeping me awake because I was so excited! JM of Book Freak Revelations & I were supposed to meet at 8am, but I arrived at 8:15am. Blame the traffic. I would like to thank and virtually hug JM for being such an amazing friend + companion + brother + father. ALL IN ONE, bookworms. xD

1464527137400

I also met some of my blogger friends yesterday (which was totally amazing!) ❤

The people in the pictures + I was also with yesterday were:

Salve of Cuckoo For Books (the adorable booktuber)

Kevin of Tomebound (the bubbly blogger)

Hazel of Stay Bookish (my fave blogger)

Justine of Bookwormaniac (the book model king)

And of course, JM of Book Freak Revelations (the HB lord)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I also created a short recap video including Jennifer Niven’s message to her readers!

Here’s a pic with the PH YA book bloggers! (Credits to Ate Kai)

FB_IMG_1464522073756-01

Here are their recaps, too!

JM @Book Freak Revelations

Dianne @ Oops! I Read A Book Again

Salve @ Cuckoo For Books

Kevin @ Tomebound

Jesselle @ The Lifelong Bookworm

Of course, here are my pictures with the loveliest author, Jennifer Niven. ❤ *flails*

And I brought home these lovely things with me. I’m going to treasure these forever.

20160530_095847-01

jasmine sign

4 thoughts on “Event Recap: #JenniferNiveninPH (05/29/16)

  1. Yay, this is amazing! You look like you had tons of fun and it’s awesome you got to meet other bloggers and even a booktuber. I met Jennifer Niven at YALLWest and she’s so kind. I can’t wait for HUTU!

    PS. @JMCabraal on Twitter referred me to you ;).

    Jess @ POB!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

