My (LATE) May 2016 Wrap-Up + Life Update! :P

May2016

LIFE. JUST. HAPPENED.

Hello everyone! I thought that summer would help me lessen the books in my TBR pile, but I think that I’m absolutely wrong about that. That being said, I only managed to read 6 books for the month of May. One of them was a reread. Without further ado, here are the books:

23203257

Lily and Dunkin by Donna Gephart

Sometimes our hearts see things our eyes can’t.

Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you’re in the eighth grade.

Dunkin Dorfman, birth name Norbert Dorfman, is dealing with bipolar disorder and has just moved from the New Jersey town he’s called home for the past thirteen years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse.

One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change.

Click here to read my full review.

4S


The Manifesto on How To Be Interesting by Holly Bourne22533460

Apparently I’m boring. A nobody. But that’s all about to change. Because I am starting a project. Here. Now. For myself. And if you want to come along for the ride then you’re very welcome.

Bree is a loser, a wannabe author who hides behind words. Most of the time she hates her life, her school, her never-there parents. So she writes.

But when she’s told she needs to start living a life worth writing about, The Manifesto on How to Be Interesting is born. Six steps on how to be interesting. Six steps that will see her infiltrate the popular set, fall in love with someone forbidden and make the biggest mistake of her life.

4S


26116460Unrivaled by Alyson Noel

Everyone wants to be someone.

Layla Harrison wants to leave her beach-bum days for digs behind a reporter’s desk. Aster Amirpour wants to scream at the next casting director who tells her “we need ethnic but not your kind of ethnic.” Tommy Phillips dreams of buying a twelve-string guitar and using it to shred his way back into his famous absentee dad’s life.

But Madison Brooks took destiny and made it her bitch a long time ago.

She’s Hollywood’s hottest starlet, and the things she did to become the name on everyone’s lips are merely a stain on the pavement, ground beneath her Louboutin heel.

That is, until Layla, Aster, and Tommy find themselves with a VIP invite to the glamorous and gritty world of Los Angeles’s nightlife and lured into a high-stakes competition where Madison Brooks is the target. Just as their hopes begin to gleam like stars through the California smog, Madison Brooks goes missing. . . . And all of their hopes are blacked out in the haze of their lies.

2S


Love Charms and Other Catastrophes by Kimberly Karalius25819497

Aspiring love-charm maker Hijiri Kitamura was excited to come back to Grimbaud for her sophomore year—until she learned about the upcoming charm-making competition. She, along with her friends and fellow rebels, had worked too hard to free the town from Zita’s tyrannical love fortunes to allow some other charm maker to move in and take over. The only solution is for Hijiri to win the contest herself.

Unfortunately, that’s easier said than done, especially when Love itself has decided to meddle in Hijiri’s life. Concerned that its favorite charm maker has given up on finding a love of her own, Love delivers a very special gift—the perfect boyfriend, specially crafted just for her.

4S


29071069Tales from the Front by Elise Kova

12 stories told from different perspectives that have to be read between book 2, Fire Falling, and book 3, Earth’s End.

The order of point of views are:
* Fritz
* Aldrik
* Elecia
* Aldrik
* Fritz
* Reale
* Emperor Solaris
* Jax
* Daniel
* Baldair
* Tim
* Erion

4S


And my reread was ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES by Jennifer Niven…

Speaking of Jennifer Niven, thank the bookish gods and National Book Store for inviting her here in the PH. Never did I imagine that I can finally hug her and talk to her in real life. In case you missed my recap, click here to read my feels when I met her last May 29th. You don’t know how excited we were that day. I finally met some of my bookstagrammer + blogger friends. Also, I have an ongoing PH giveaway on my instagram. Check #jasbrightGA and you might win a SIGNED paperback copy of All the Bright Places.

I’m going back to school on the 27th of June. Less than 3 weeks away. *ugly crying* I need to read a lot of books before I go back to school or else… I might not complete my reading challenge for this year. Reading slumps attacked me last month, too. YIKES. Anyway, I’m officially a third-year college student and I’ll be busy (for sure!). No regrets, this summer turned out great and lovely!

In case you missed my posts last May, I’ll leave the links for you!

jasmine sign

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

7 thoughts on “My (LATE) May 2016 Wrap-Up + Life Update! :P

  1. I keep hearing about Unrivaled, it looks really good. Don’t feel bad about your reading, I never read while I was in college until we had breaks, because I was way too busy studying. Its awesome that you could read anything while in college, seriously! I hope you enjoy the next few weeks off!

    Like

  2. I hope you read a lot of books before school! I actually just got out so I’m quickly picking up speed in regards to my reading ;). However, the more I read, the more reviews I have to write so that is sometimes eh.

    Thanks for stopping by Princessica of Books!

    Like

  3. You read some amazing books last month! All The Bright Places sounds like a kind of book that would give me feels, and Love, Charms and Other Catastrophes sounds really cute. Also congrats for meeting Jennifer Niven!

    Like

Leave a Reply

