Book Review: A Totally Awkward Love Story by Tom Ellen and Lucy Ivison

A Totally Awkward Love Story

23341743BOOK: A Totally Awkward Love Story

AUTHOR: Tom Ellen & Lucy Ivison

FORMAT / PUBLISHER: Hardcover / Delacorte Press


synopsisnn

The summer before college, Hannah swears she’s finally going to find The One. And for five perfect minutes, Hannah does find him. He’s cute and makes her laugh like crazy. She just wishes she’d caught his name, because Toilet Boy Cinderella really lacks sex appeal.

For Sam, the summer is off to a bad start for a million reasons. But for five minutes his luck changes: in a fancy restroom painted purple like it belongs in a Bond villain hideaway, Sam falls head over heels for some strange and hilarious girl. Of course, he doesn’t know her name. With his luck, he’ll never see her again, and he’ll remain a girlfriendless, moony-eyed virgin. Forever.

But another chance meeting brings them together, only to have a chance misunderstanding drive them apart . . . and then the cycle starts all over again. Madcap mishaps, raunchy hilarity, and deep romance follow these two wherever they go. For two people so clearly destined for each other, they sure have a hell of a lot of trouble even getting together.


bookreviewnn

*I would like to thank Penguin Random House for sending me a hardcover copy of this book.

This doesn’t affect nor influence my review.*

 This book was literally about the awkward love story of Hannah and Sam. LITERALLY AWKWARD.

First of all, the most talked about topic in this book was….. “losing virginity!!”. At first, I was quite hesitant to continue reading this because I found it very weird. I was at that point where I told myself “Seriously? Of all the things that you’re looking forward to happen, why LOSING virginity?”. Thank the bookish gods I continued reading it.

Anyways, it was funny how Hannah and Sam found their way to accidentally meet each other. I have a hint though. Sam was called the “Toilet Boy“. Wanna know why? Go read the book! Also, Hannah has a friend named “Stella” and truth be told, she was such a jerk. I didn’t like her. Not at all. We all know someone whom we thought we’re friends with, but he/she isn’t a real friend. *sighs*

I thought that the ending would make me swoon to the highest level, but don’t take the title for granted. I buddy read this book with JM of Book Freak Revelations and we had a Facebook video call… and we laughed for solid 15 minutes especially when he read that specific line from this book. I was afraid that I might die laughing because no one dared to stop laughing. Oh my gosh. We’ll be buddy reading more books in the future so… I’m expecting a lot of video calls, too.

This book was full of feels. I had a few issues, but I really liked it! It was such an entertaining read.

3S

3.5 stars!

url

TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | BLOGLOVIN’ | GOODREADS

jasmine sign

One thought on “Book Review: A Totally Awkward Love Story by Tom Ellen and Lucy Ivison

Leave a Reply

