International Blog Tour: A Torch Against The Night by Sabaa Tahir

blog-tour-torch

torchBOOK: A Torch Against The Night

AUTHOR: Sabaa Tahir

FORMAT / PUBLISHER: ARC / Razorbill


synopsisnew

After the events of the Fourth Trial, Martial soldiers hunt the two fugitives as they flee the city of Serra and undertake a perilous journey through the heart of the Empire.

Laia is determined to break into Kauf – the Empire’s most secure and dangerous prison – to save her brother, who is the key to the Scholars’ survival. And Elias is determined to help Laia succeed, even if it means giving up his last chance at freedom.

But dark forces, human and otherworldly, work against Laia and Elias. The pair must fight every step of the way to outsmart their enemies: the bloodthirsty Emperor Marcus, the merciless Commandant, the sadistic Warden of Kauf, and, most heartbreaking of all, Helene – Elias’s former friend and the Empire’s newest Blood Shrike.

Bound to Marcus’s will, Helene faces a torturous mission of her own – one that might destroy her: find the traitor Elias Veturius and the Scholar slave who helped him escape… and kill them both.


newbookreview

*I would like to thank Penguin Random House for sending me an ARC of this book for review.

This doesn’t affect nor influence my review.*

An Ember in the Ashes was amazing. A Torch Against the Night was even more amazing. I had some slight issues about it, but the story went well. When I finished reading An Ember in the Ashes, I knew I had to read A Torch Against the Night (or else my memory will forget the story >__>). I was so excited when I found out that Helene finally has her own POV in this book (yaaaaay, BLOOD SHRIKE!). These books are worth the hype. Elias & Laia’s relationship was way more matured (and cuter!) *squeals*.

“Family is worth dying for, killing for. Fighting for them is all that keeps us going when everything else is gone.”

Another thing that I really liked about this book was the relationship of the characters to their families especially Laia’s. I loved that she was very close with Darin and they knew the meaning of each other’s actions. It’s the primary reason why I would never stop reading this series. Some chapters didn’t catch my full attention, but when I was about to reach the ending of Torch, it was crazy like hell. Twists and games, my friends. And the line that made me say “oooh, this is such a shady line!”?

“Secrets are a snake’s way of doing business.”

And most of all, this line melt my heart.

“Don’t lock away yourself from those who care about you because you think you’ll hurt them or – or they’ll hurt you. What point is there in being human if you don’t let yourself feel anything?”

Sabaa Tahir’s writing style will definitely make everyone’s hearts go from being so excited to being so “OH MY GOD I DON’T KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH MY LIFE ANYMORE!”. Read this series if you haven’t yet! 🙂

PH bookworms, you can get your copy at National Book Store! ❤

jasmine sign

4S

4 stars!

url

FACEBOOK TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | BLOGLOVIN’ | GOODREADS
Leave a Reply

