Book Review: Poison’s Kiss by Breeana Shields

poisons-kiss


poisonkissBOOK: Poison’s Kiss

AUTHOR: Breeana Shields

FORMAT / PUBLISHER: ARC / Random House Books for Young Readers


synopsisnew

Marinda has kissed dozens of boys. They all die afterward. It’s a miserable life, but being a visha kanya, a poison maiden, is what she was created to do. Marinda serves the Raja by dispatching his enemies with only her lips as a weapon.

Until now, the men she was ordered to kiss have been strangers, enemies of the kingdom. Then she receives orders to kiss Deven, a boy she knows too well to be convinced he needs to die. She begins to question who she s really working for. And that is a thread that, once pulled, will unravel more than she can afford to lose.


newbookreview

*I would like to thank Penguin Random House for sending me an ARC of this book for review.

This doesn’t affect nor influence my review.*

This novel is based from an Indian folklore. This is my FIRST time reading something about that and I REALLY loved it. Anyway, this was also my first fantasy read of the year and I’m not disappointed. NOT at all. Why didn’t I read this sooner? Ew, Jasmine.

Poison’s Kiss was an all-in-one book. All the feels were there. Marinda’s life was quite devastating and miserable. Her kiss could kill anyone. She’s created to be a visha kanya *it sounds so beautiful, admit it* and she’s ordered to kill strangers and enemies of the kingdom her whole life until she met a guy named Deven. Trust me, Deven will be everyone’s book boyfriend. He’s probably one of the best characters EVER. You might think “Oh, it’s probably just another cliché story of a helpless girl falling in love with a boy”, but it’s not. There are, of course, twists and turns that will make you want to read the next chapters… until you finish the book. It happened to me. Every chapter left me hanging and wanting for more. Her writing style was simple, yet engaging. I really loved it.

I cannot wait for the sequel. Hands down to Breeana Shields. You made me want to read more fantasy books this year. Is it too early to say that Poison’s Kiss might make it on top 17 books of 2017? I’m pretty sure it will! Make sure to add this to your TBR because it’s really fantastic! 🙂 5 HEARTS for this book! ❤

5S

url

jasmine sign

FACEBOOK TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | BLOGLOVIN’ | GOODREADS
8 thoughts on “Book Review: Poison’s Kiss by Breeana Shields

Leave a Reply

