PH Blog Tour: The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

upsidebanner


30653853BOOK: The Upside of Unrequited

AUTHOR: Becky Albertalli

FORMAT / PUBLISHER: ARC / Harper Teen


synopsis

Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love—she’s lived through it twenty-six times. She crushes hard and crushes often, but always in secret. Because no matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. Will is funny and flirtatious and just might be perfect crush material. Maybe more than crush material. And if Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.

There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker Reid. He’s an awkward Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him. Right?

 


book-review

*I would like to thank Becky Albertalli for providing an ARC of this book for the PH blog tour.

This doesn’t affect nor influence my review.*

I personally loved Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda and I believe I can reread it forever. Right after I read that book, I know that Becky’s next books are to die for. She did it again. She touched my heart.

The Upside of Unrequited is one of my (well, EVERYBODY‘s) most anticipated reads of the year. Molly has 26 crushes (OMG, I think I have 3 or 4? And they’re not my serious crushes. Hahaha!) and she always keeps it as a secret (SAMEEEEE, Molly! Haha!). I told my loveliest BFF, JM of Book Freak Revelations, one of my crushes and he just laughed at me because I’m so discreet (TRUE, by the way!). Anyway, another reason why I really loved Upside is because of the fact that Molly is a fat girl and I used to be fat. Way back then, I was bullied because of my weight. Our physical appearance shouldn’t be the standard when it comes to REAL LIVING. No matter how you look like, as long as you know how to live like a person, that’s what you call LIVING with a heart.

Becky Albertalli’s writing style will always make you crave for more. It’s absolutely beautiful. You can definitely feel the sincerity in every word. Let me share with you one of my favorite lines from the book…

“There’s just something about this kind of moment – this tiny thread connecting me to a total stranger. It’s the kind of thing that makes the universe feel smaller. I really love that.”

Anyway, May hasn’t ended yet and I want to tell you, Mom Becky, that you’re one of the best moms out there! It’s really lovely seeing you with your children having tons of fun. I REALLY hope you come here in the PH. Thank you for writing this book! ❤

5stars


blogtour

I’d like to thank the following bloggers for joining this tour. Your support really means a lot. Thank YOU with all my heart. #UpsideBlogTourPH wouldn’t be the same without your help! You can read their posts here:

JM @ Book Freak Revelations

Inah @ The Bibliophile Confessions

Bianca @ The Ultimate Fangirl

Nicka @ Read by Nicka

Fay @ Bibliophile Soprano

Josiah @ The Bookish Fanboy

url

signature

YOU CAN FIND ME HERE:

FACEBOOK TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | BLOGLOVIN’ | GOODREADS

Leave a Reply

